Outstanding Young Alumni Awards

OHA Medal Outstanding Young Alumni Awards OHA President's Service Award

The Outstanding Young Alumni Awards are presented to multiple recipients each year across five different fields of expertise – Arts, Business, Sport, STEM and Community.

If you would like to nominate a fellow Old Haileyburian for the OHA Medal award, please email your nomination to stayconnected@haileybury.vic.edu.au  or complete the accompanying document here

The criteria for these awards is as follows;

- Nominee must have graduated from Haileybury within the past twelve years.

- Significant achievements in their field of endeavour either locally, nationally or internationally, exemplifying the best attributes of youth in today's world.

- Exceptional human values which are an inspiration to others.

- Rendered excellent and sustained service to the OHA or its alumni community.


2018 Outstanding Young Alumni Award Winners: 



Spencer Bignell (2009)

Spencer is the co-founder of emerging business, Underground Broadway which is one of Brisbane’s fastest growing Musical Theatre companies. UB brings professionals and aspiring performers together to learn, develop connections and gain valuable performance experience. 

Nicholas Doanto (2009)

Nicholas is the Director and Owner of the Mornington Peninsula Hydropinics Café. Nicholas has been operating the café for 3 years. All of the produce grown on site is used in each of the dishes served at this rapidly expanding café business.



Niran Dasika (2011)

Niran has worked as a professional musician in Tokyo, Japan and has recorded for labels including Sony Music, Universal Japan and Blue Note Records. He has played on 21 albums including 3 of his own. Niran is currently undertaking a Masters of Performing Arts at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA) and thus can’t be with us today.

Edwin Kwong (2013)

Edwin is Melbourne’s most active young pipe organists, having performed in over 75 concerts in the past four years. Edwin is the Director of Music and Organist of St Bartholomew’s Anglican Church, Burnley. He has performed at such notable locations as Eton College and St John's College, Cambridge in the UK as well as at at Holy Trinity Cathedral, Auckland. Edwin is currently studying in Sweden and is unable to be here today.


Hannah Vuong (2013)

Hannah is involved with a Melbourne University student run initiative known as The Material Aid Program. The initiative delivers medical equipment to under-resourced healthcare institutions in the developing world. Their partner health organisations provide Hannah and her team with a wish list of much-needed medical materials, which volunteers then work to obtain and deliver through students visiting these communities overseas.



Jordan Williamsz (2009)

Jordan Williamsz is an Australian middle-distance runner who competes primarily in the 1500 metres. Jordy represented Australia at the 2017 World Championships narrowly missing the final. Jordan competed in the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast making the final and finishing in 6th position overall. 

Jackson Coleman (2010)

Jackson is a Victorian cricketer who has been on the State squad for the past two seasons. He was also a member of the successful Australian Under-19 World Cup squad in 2010.Jackson has also been part of the Melbourne Stars Big Bash squad over the past two seasons playing in seven matches. He is a left arm bowler who is keen to make an impact on the upcoming season of domestic cricket after making his debut in the Victorian one day team last season.



Melissa Adikari (2008)

Melissa is an Engineer primarily responsible for construction traffic management, road safety and contract management. She has project experience across Australia, particularly in Victoria and Queensland, and in the Middle East. Melissa is currently travelling overseas and unable to make it today.

Rhiannah Carver (2007)

Rhiannah is a Senior Environmental Manager currently working in Montreal, Canada. She is responsible for developing her employer, The CSL Group’s environmental strategy and guiding key investment and policy direction. Rhiannah has a Masters degree in Engineering and has previously worked in Sydney for CSL Australia. Rhiannah is delighted to win the award but unable to accept today as she is in Canada.

Amy Dowel (2007)

Amy is a Senior Project Engineer with the John Holland Group. She is currently working on the Westgate Tunnel project. Prior to this Amy worked for 2 years with Aus Group Alliance and 4 years with Lend Lease on some of Australia’s largest road infrastructure projects. Amy is also overseas and unable to accept today. However we are fortunate to have one of our winners;

Qerime Alimovski (2007)

Following, completing a Honours degree and Bachelor of Science with a double major in Biochemistry & Pharmacology in 2011Qerime has established a successful career as a Flavourist and is currently employed by one of the largest flavour houses in the world, Sensient Technologies. Qerime chemically engineers, designs and formulates flavours for the food and beverage industry by creating flavour concepts for alcoholic beverages, dairy products, confectionery, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics. There are only 7 certified flavourists in Australia and we are proud that Qerime is one of them! 




2013 : Charlie Lim (2005)

2014 : Tom Bainbridge (2008) and Madison Griffiths (2012).

2015: Monique Mulcahy (2013)

2016 : Kieran Rafferty (2012)

2017 : Ben Burgess (2012)



2013 : Jared Hopping (2007) and Ben Sze (2002)

2014 : Joanna Hawley (2009) and Sahil Shekhar (2007)

2015: Matthew Frenkel (2009)

2016 : Maddison Connaughton (2010) and Brittany Drummond (2010)

2017 : Nicolette Kordos (2010)



2013 : Tom Cross (2009)

2014 : Rebecca Hibbert (2007)

2015: Amaya Hettige (2010)

2016 : Matt Hutson (2012)

2017 : Kenji Fujihara (2013)



2013 : Victoria Na (2008)

2014 Jack Gunston (2009)

2015: Josh Beaver (2011) and Laetisha Scanlan (2007)

2016 : Angus Brayshaw (2013) and Gina Michael (2012)

2017 : Karl Amon (2013) and Courtney Clarkson (2009)



Commenced 2018.