Old Haileyburians at the Olympics

It has been well documented that we have two Old Haileyburians competing at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. Laetisha Scanlan (OH 2007) will compete in the trap shooting event on Monday morning (Melbourne time) whilst Josh Beaver (OH 2011) will catapult his way up the Rio Olympic pool on Wednesday morning (Melbourne time) in the heats of the 200m backstroke.

If either Josh or Laetisha strikes gold in Rio they will become the first Old Haileyburians to do so in the history of the Olympic Games.

We have had a proud history at the Olympics dating back to 1948 with six alumni members having previously competed for Australia. They are as follows;

John Marshall (OH ’47) London 1948, Helsinki 1952 and Melbourne 1956 : Swimming. John was a silver medallist in the 1500m and bronze medallist in the 400m freestyle at London 1948. The John Marshall pool at Brighton is named in his honour.

Don Wagstaff (OH ’67) – Mexico 1968, Munich 1972 and Montreal 1976 : Diving

Russell Butler (OH ’85) – Seoul 1988 and Atlanta 1996 : Diving.

Robert Stone (OH ’82) – Seoul 1988 : Athletics (400m).

Cameron McFadzean (OH ’88) – Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000 : Kayaking.

Stuart Carruthers (OH ’87) – Atlanta 1996 : Hockey. Bronze medallist. Stuart is a current Brighton parent.

Victoria Na (OH 2008) – London 2012 : Badminton. Victoria was Haileybury’s first female Olympian.

Related News

Forgotten password?