Bob Sedergreen (OH ’60) – OHA Medallist, 2019

Mr Bob Sedergreen (OH ’60) has been announced as the winner of the prestigious Old Haileyburians Association (OHA) Medal. The medal was awarded for the 12th time at the Founders Day assembly, held in Aikman Hall at Keysborough. The award was presented by OHA President, Brad Hyde (OH ’82). Guests were treated to a live Jazz performance by Mr Sedergreen prior to his acceptance.

The Old Haileyburians Association Medal is awarded to an Old Haileyburian in recognition and appreciation of exceptional achievement to the community beyond expectation in their field of endeavour. Given that there are now in excess of 16,000 members of the Old Haileyburians Association, to be awarded this medal is a major achievement in one’s life.

Bob’s high regard and position in Australian music is unquestionable. His impact and influence in performance, composition and education for over half a century has secured his place as a national treasure. Bob has won the respect and admiration of recognised talents both in Australia and internationally.

To play with Bob Sedergreen has been described as the “ultimate armchair ride”.  “To hear him is always exciting and satisfying” – Adrian Jackson, The Age.  He has been described by a colleague Dr. Tony Gould as the world’s best Blues pianist.

Bob has toured extensively both in Australia and overseas including Jazz Festivals in Montreal, Malaysia and Scandinavia. His musical abilities find him leading and working with a multitude of ensembles and groups.  He has also recorded many albums and over 32 CD’s.


In 1990 Bob won the Inaugural Jazz Award for Australia’s Best Keyboardist. 

In 2006 Bob was awarded the Ken Myers Medallion for Contributions to the Arts by the Victorian Arts Centre.  He was the first musician to be given this award.

In 2008 Bob was awarded the Don Banks Award for contributions to Australia’s cultural musical identity by the Australia Council – one of the nation’s highest musical awards.

As an educator, Bob is responsible for setting up the Jazz components at the Melbourne University’s Artist in Residence Scheme throughout country and city secondary schools of Victoria.

Finally, The Australian Jazz Bell Awards recognise and encourage excellence in the performance, creativity, recording and presentation of jazz in Australia, in honour of one of the greats of Australian jazz, Graeme Bell. In 2018, Bob was inducted into the Graeme Bell Hall of Fame.

Today we added the name of one of Haileybury’s finest ever musicians – the extraordinary jazz maestro Mr. Bob Sedergreen to the impressive list of award winners below:

Previous winners of the Medal 

2018 : *Dr. Ian Davis (OH ’95)

2017 : Mr. Geoff McGeary OAM (OH ’59)

2016 : Dr. David Scrimgeour AM (OH ’67)

2015 : Mr. Robin Fildes AM OAM (OH ’58)

2014 : Dr. Ross Sundberg AM QC (OH ’60)

2013 : Mr. Ian Henderson (OH ’70)

2012 : Professor Simon Molesworth AO AM (OH ’71)

2011 : Professor Geoffrey Cleghorn (OH ’71)

2010 : Dr. Ian Watterson (OH ’75)

2009 : Mr. Tony Taggart (OH ’69)

2008 : Hon Justice Lex Lasry (OH ’66)


Related News

Brett Carty (OH ’85) and Neil Werrett (OH ’71) snare time honoured W.S Cox Plate

Read more

Forgotten password?