Mr. Chris Pfeiffer OAM (OH ’67) OHA Medallist, 2021

The OHA today announced that the winner of the 2021 OHA Medal is Mr. Chris Pfeiffer OAM (OH ’67).

Chris attended Haileybury from 1960-1966 and thereafter Knox Grammar School until 1968. Chris then completed his university studies at Sydney University and Riverina College of Advanced Education (now Charles Sturt University).

After 10 years working for Lindemans Wines, Chris and his wife Robyn purchased the Seppelt’s Distillery in Rutherglen and commenced Pfeiffer wines situated in one of the most idyllic settings in Rutherglen. Over time, they have developed Pfeiffer Wines from a Direct to Consumer Winery to a Winery with now significant National and International distribution.

Pfeiffer Wines has been awarded the top grading regularly and has been a James Halliday Five Star Winery for over 10 years.

Chris regularly provides Industry representation and advocacy to Government through Industry groups and the wider business community. Amongst many roles, He was Chair of The Winemakers of Rutherglen for 21 years, a Board Member of Victorian Wine Industry Association and Foundation Board member of Victorian Winery Tourism Council, which developed wine tourism across Victoria.

He is a regular wine show judge and has presided over many including Royal Melbourne, Royal Hobart, Royal Queensland and the National Wine Show.

Chris has been recognised for his services to the wine industry on a number of occasions. He was awarded the 2007 President’s Medal for services to the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria, the Victorian Wine Industry Association Distinguished Service Award also in 2007 and the icing on the cake was being awarded an OAM for services to the Wine Industry in 2012.

In 2023 Chris will celebrate his 50th Australian Vintage as a winemaker.

Chris joins an illustrious list of Old Haileyburians to have been awarded the OHA’s most prestigious award click here to view the OHA Medal Honour Board.

Related News

John Gollings AM (OH 1962) & Professor Rod Hicks AM (OH 1976), OHA Medallists, 2023

Read more

Forgotten password?